A New Format: May 30 – June 5

I continually try to think of ways to keep write in my blog, most of my attempts fail. I’m going to try a new weekly “training log” format that I think may suit my overall style better and keep me writing regularly. Truth is that I replay a lot of this material in my head but I think writing it out well help me analyze and tweak my training better.

Saturday, May 30:

After having two days off prior spending time with Lori in the hospital after work, I began to realize how crazy I become when I don’t run enough. It also feels selfish when you know running isn’t important compared your partner.

I decided to further expand my route in the McDowell Mountain Preserve. I climbing the front/back side of Tom’s Thumb, double repeat on Windmill, over to Bell Pass cutting back to Tom’s Thumb and down to gateway. Went well overall but didn’t bring enough water and so I had to ration to early which lead to some wooziness near the end. I’ve been making this route longer and harder each time I do it and it’s gotten easier. 3 hours, 11 min.

That afternoon I hopped on the spinning bike and hit 1-2 min. repeats every 5-8min. 1 hour w/ core.

Good day with a total of 4+ hours of quality training.

Sunday, May 31:

Long recovery run which was pretty rough but I think is necessary. Route around Tempe Town Lake and canal. 2 hours

Monday, June 1:

Road/Canal run in the triple digits. Went well but that sun is pretty draining afterwards! Trying to adapt. 1 hr, 30min.

Tuesday, June 2:

Tried to do a trail/climbing run today but the first climb was very labored and my heart rate was bouncing off the charts. It was too pathetic and turned around soon after. There was no benefit in suffering through it.

The previous days must have really took it out of me! I would have liked to get this last workout in and then take a day off but I didn’t play the game right this time around. 37min. w/ core.

Wednesday, June 3:

Did intervals on the spin bike which went surprisingly well, 1 hr 5min. Decided to go to the group run tonight. Big crowd, but I really do miss when it was small and only 6 people would show up. 55min.

Way happier with how I felt versus yesterday. I wasn’t in the triple heat so that may be a factor.

Thursday, June 4:

Did an extended version road/canal route. Felt OK and ran a decent time on it since not feeling fast or anything. It wasn’t hot like on Monday so perhaps that is a factor. 1 hr, 27min. w/ core

Friday, June 5:

While I would like to get another trail run in this week, I don’t feel that running today would provide any type of quality while the benefit of taking the day off and resting are much greater . Off – 0 min.

//

Overall I feel like it was a pretty successful week in my overall training for AC. I think I’d like more climbing and trail but Tuesday was a bust. I am a huge fan of my spinning bike and perhaps it does fill in the gaps where I don’t get the climbing I should.

About Michael Carson

Ultrarunner from Tempe, Arizona
This entry was posted in Ultrarunning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment