Javelina Jundred 2015 Race Recap

This year was my third year doing Javelina and I’d set a goal of running 15:30. Honestly, I wasn’t sure if I could do it and I don’t know why I decided on 15:30. Maybe it’s just a nice round number between 15 and 16. It just seemed reasonable and the pace chart I made on ultrasplits.com looked doable. I was somewhat concerned my goal time given was too fast as I ran just about the same time at the Flagstaff Sky Race as I did last year, actually a little slower which I attribute to newly introduced section that was harder. I overall felt stronger this year and suffered less. Additionally, I’ve made a lot of changes in my training and nutrition this past year. Maybe that was enough?

As always, Javelina was full of incredible competitors. It’s really hard to judge anyone at 100 miles even if they’ve performed well in the past. So many things can go wrong (or right). I had my goal, a plan to get there and really did my best to ignore everything else. It’s always a long day and it’s no use trying to focus on anything else.

Loop 1:

From the start the race goes always goes out fast. Paul Giblin took off like a rocket and that was pretty much the end of story there. I was generally curious if he was going to be able to hold that pace. Brian Tinder popped out of some bushes about a half mile from the start and handed me his Borat thong, which I grabbed without realizing it was him or what was going on. Awesome. He had normal running shorts on so I didn’t recognize him with so much clothing. A+ for a speed transition from swimsuit-thong to running clothes! We chatted about his Europe trip and I showed my enthusiasm and jealousy of wanting to visit. It’s been typical of me to start the race at a pace I feel is brisk but not so hot that it’s ridiculous for a 100.

Brian eventually took off and soon Miguel Lara caught up and led up a group. I cruised along with them in view for the most part enjoying the sunrise while making sure to take care of myself – drinking, eating, sensing anything weird in the body and taking note.

At Jackass Junction I filled a bottle and took a whiz while Brian had the same idea. Karl Meltzer came cruising by in his Speedgoat style and I settled into a groove again. At this point I was trying to take off the gas as I felt like I was going too fast. On the way to HQ I was passed by Devon Yanko and another runner. Looking at my watch I realized this loop felt fast but was actually spot on, 1:58 and my plan was 1:59. I realized why I thought Karl was going out so fast was that he would be going after his previous splits from 2006 which would very close to what I wanted to run. That was at least my guess. Realistically, he was on-point and now I realize going out faster on the first loop isn’t completely unwise. As long as you take care of yourself and know you’re fit you’ll be fine and it really will be time in the bank. Note: this strategy is generally not recommended. At HQ, Lori made it possible to get what I need and work a smooth transition into the next loop.


Loop 2 & 3:

Moving into loop 2 and 3 is always nice because I think runners, at least those who haven’t run the course before, begin to realize what the rest of the race is going to be like. Also, if you haven’t taken care of yourself on loop 1 it might start to show. Nothing incredibly eventful happened here rather than passing about 2 runners en route to Jackass aid.

Heading into loop 3 I caught up with Devon and Miguel after Coyote Camp aid. It looked like both of them were just having some trouble at that point in time. I know they’re both incredible athletes so whatever was going on could be fixed. It seemed a little early to be picking up places but I was hitting my planned times well enough and the pace was OK.

Soon after Jackass Junction, on the nice smooth descent, Jon Olsen caught up with me. He was looking good and I had been wondering where he had been all day. We chatted briefly the night before during and after the USL Roundtable chat. He’s an incredible athlete and I respect him a lot. It was really nice to see him and was happy to see he was running a smart race. It’s interesting to see how much of an advantage you have if you’re taller and have long legs. You can just open up on those sections.

mc-javelina2015 run

Photo credit: Rich McKnight


Loop 4:

Now it was the heat of the day. The section between HQ and Jackass was tough. I hadn’t taken in enough calories on the descent into HQ on loop 3 and I was starting to really feel it on the way up again. The heat combined being behind on calories sent me into a pretty bad low. I didn’t feel like eating anything and I knew I needed it. I also was not willing to hike, at all. So instead, I decided to stop to pee-poop (what’s when you try to poop and you end up peeing, duh) and forced myself to eat a GU. It seemed to work until I got to aid where I ate as much as I could. It was a pretty bad low and I luckily got out fairly unscathed. The heat made it pretty difficult. It’s hard to tell yourself that if you’re feeling rough, other people are, too. For some reason, it just seems like everyone else must be feeling better than you out there and it’s only you that’s feeling bad. It’s not the case normally but it’s hard to get that out of your head. Part of low blood sugar, I guess. The rest of the loop was OK, it was nice to know that soon I was going to pick up Nate and have some company.


Loop 5:

Getting closer to the end… picked up Nate at HQ. My parents now helped get what I needed and did a stellar job. Nate’s been an incredible friend and has helped pace me in numerous races now. Between Coyote and Jackass I again had a really bad low which is abnormal. I normally don’t have lows as much when I have someone with me. I even expressed how I wasn’t sure if I’d make it through the race. My legs were just feeling really rough. I took some Ibuprofen and GU without much hope and it of course helped. Overall I had been barley taking in any caffeine. Very little. I normally have more “highs” during a race but honestly I think it has to do with caffeine and I think I’d rather take fewer high points than have to deal with the ups & downs. It’s hard to manage and it screws with electrolytes. Also, it makes me really stressed out.


Loop 6:

Heading out with headlamps in tow, I saw that Devon was very close and moving at a great clip with her pacer. Just overall looking stellar. I plugged away to Jackass were, Devon actually came in just moments behind Funny thing is, after reading her account, she didn’t notice me there. She pretty much stopped for a brief moment and ran out while I finished fueling up and such. While it’s hard to be passed, I had to focus and take care of myself. There’s still is a fair amount of race left and the upcoming miles are critical. I feel like the pace back to HQ was consistent and was overall pretty happy.


Final 9:

Are always difficult. Yes, you’re almost done but the normally insignificant uphill is a challenge. Last year this last 9 really cost me some time. I was pretty focused on not letting this happen. I was moving much better and made it to the Tonto turn off in a respectable amount of time. Cruising with Nate on the downhill was great. You can see HQ’s “Eye or Sauron” light in the distance and it’s all about getting there. Nate commented that the pace was 9:30 at one point and I thought, jeeze… this really feels like 8’s to me. Crazy how your perspective changes!

javelina-eye

Back onto Pemberton for the final mile and I pushed with everything I had left in the tank. There was a lot of heavy breathing and grunting going on. I actually finished surprisingly strong, super happy about that. I was really glad to see Lori and gave her a big hug. It awesome to see all your family and friends at the finish line.It’s because of these people and their support I’m able to do this and can’t be more grateful. Really cool. Oh, and it’s nice to sit in a chair.


Every time I train and complete a 100 it makes me realizes how much I love the journey and race.  The people, the strategy, the overall complexity it takes to successfully complete a goal when there are so many things that can go wrong. Even when things go wrong being able to think on the fly and use past experience to find a solution.

I want to point out that Paul and Devon’s performances this year were incredible. In 2011 when Hal set the men’s record it was a fairly cool, generally overcast/partly cloudy. There is no doubt in my mind that if Paul had that weather the CR would be broken. Devon’s time is just in another world. I said last year the women’s woulden’t be broken for awhile but jeebus… I’m afraid of saying that again. Unreal.

Thanks to Lori for the incredible support, my parents for jumping in to crew me, Nate Polaske for pacing me (again) and Mindy! You guys rock! And of course, all my friends, Aravaipa Running and kittens.

I will be back again next year with a new goal. I already set a goal of 5 finishes and I like the sound of 14:50, too.

Some stats:

  • 2011 (my first hundred): 18:53
  • 2014: 16:07
  • 2015: 15:21

mc-javelina2015

About Michael Carson

Ultrarunner from Tempe, Arizona
This entry was posted in Ultrarunning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment