June 20 – 26: Mohican Adventures

Saturday, June 20

Pacing & Filming Nate Polaske at Mohican 100. Pretty epic… muddiest conditions I’ve ever experienced. I’ll make a separate post regarding this adventure. Too much to fill a small entry. 46 miles, ? on the time.

mc-mohican

Sunday, June 21

Award ceremony at Mohican 100, relaxing and sharing stories. Had my flight back to AZ later in the day. 0 min.

Monday, June 22

I think I’ve pinpointed the “hip” issue that has been bothering me. I actually think most of it is a glute issue attaching to the hip bone so I’ve been working it out. Pretty tired today from the flight last night and going to work all day. I decided to just spin to give myself some more time to work out some tight muscles. It’s feels like I haven’t been running at all lately! Kind of depressing but last week was meant to be low and I suppose pacing 46 miles and the previous hard Saturday’s workout was decent. I still have to convince myself of that. Just need to finalize this muscle thing and I’ll be much happier. If that’s the case than I can focus on just getting use to the extreme heat with shorter runs. 30min, easy spinning.

Tuesday, June 23

Went for a run but cut it short due to the hip really bothering me… pretty disappointing. I made a massage appointment yesterday for this Friday so hoping that will help.

Wednesday, June 24

While it’s difficult to not run, it’s also important that I use the time that I have to take care of this issue. I’d rather not have this spread into next week and then worry about it for MAS50 and further mess up training for AC. No running but did some Yoga instead.

Thursday, June 25

No running, yoga instead.

Friday, June 26

Massage. There was some junk along the hip/glute/IT band that got cleared up so I think this make have solved the remaining issue.

About Michael Carson

Ultrarunner from Tempe, Arizona
This entry was posted in Ultrarunning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment