June 13 – June 19: Mt. Ord Mishap

Saturday, June 13

The plan today, wise or not, was to run a double “partial” Mt. Ord. I’ve wanted to do a double in the past but once you’ve finally gotten down to the bottom, it’s not that thrilling anymore.  Plus, doing a double makes it about 30 miles which is more than I normally want to do. My partial route is the traditional route and then the second time around going to the “Y” instead of all the way to the top. I think this cuts off about 5 miles. So, I estimate this was 25 miles? I don’t have a GPS watch, sorry. I admit it would be nice at times. I really wasn’t thinking about miles rather than just the time out and doing this route.

Lots of ultra runners out there, mainly people training for Hardrock or one last exam before Western States. I saw Jay Danek, was nice to chat with him. I got to the top in 1:18 which to my knowledge is my PR. The past couple times have been around 1:24 and I’m sure slower in the past years. So that was a nice surprise since I’m not rested by any means. Took it steady down to the bottom since it beats you up and I knew I had to come back up.

The second time I started I felt surprisingly great. Unfortunately that wore off about about 2 miles from my turn-around. I hiked a couple spots (yes, can you believe it?) and just generally feel like trash which I contribute to not taking endurolytes with me (dumb). I started my downhill, which was pretty pathetic, but I really wanted to be done. The crappy part was clipping a rock and doing a superman full on into the dirt while my right hip muscle taking a good pounding. It seems to be getting along just fine but man, yeah, that was kind of rough. The good point I suppose is that it was so close to be doing so I didn’t have to agitate it much.

So, I learned a couple things for when I do this again… which will probably once before AC but we’ll see. 3hr, 45min.

Sunday, June 14

The hip is sore but I wanted to just see if spinning would bother it. Was OK. Easy spinning, 30min.

Monday, June 15

Rest – hip thing. 0 min.

Tuesday, June 16

Short run road. Hip was OK but I don’t trust it. Still overall sore. Decided to take the rest of the week off and hopefully be better for pacing duties for Nate this Saturday at Mohican 100. As much as I hate not running, this was intended as a lower mileage week. Just didn’t want it to be this low. 35 min.

Wednesday, June 17

No running. Prepared gear for pacing and filming. 0 min.

Thursday, June 18

Half day at work and plane to Ohio. 0 min.

Friday, June 19

No running. Pacing 46 miles tomorrow. Hip is still being annoying. Pretty frustrating since I haven’t been running. Hopefully I don’t mess it up more. Sometimes things need to be worked to get better so I hope that’s the case. Feeling pretty stale not being able to get outside. Odd because the fall on Saturday wasn’t that bad. 0 min.

About Michael Carson

Ultrarunner from Tempe, Arizona
This entry was posted in Ultrarunning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment